Wed. Jul 24th, 2024

2024 WPFD: ASHENEWS Editor -in-Chief, Abdallah Bags “Torch Bearer Of Press Freedom Award”

The Editor-in-chief of ASHENEWS, Abdallah el-Kurebe, on Saturday, bagged the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ’s) 2024 Torch Bearer of Press Freedom Award.

Also honoured in the same category is the publisher and Editor-in-Chief of Wikkitimes, Mr. Haruna Mohammed.

The recognition was one of the award categories organised by the Union to commemorate the world Press Freedom Day in Abuja.

In his address of welcome at the event, the NUJ National President, Dr. Chris Isiguzo said the award is to honour Nigerian journalists and other citizens who have distinguished themselves in the fight for press freedom in the country.

Abdallah being presented with the Award by NAWOJI Chairperson

The chairman of the occasion, and Minister of Information and National Orientation, Mohammed Malagi, who also bagged NUJ Good Governance Award, commended the NUJ for organising the event to celebrate journalist have stood in the defence of press freedom.

He assured that the Tinubu administration would continue to accord special recognision to the media as partners in progress.

Other award winners from the media included the Director General Voice of Nigeria (VON) Jibrin Ndace; the Director General of the Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) Salihu Dembos and veteran Journalist Otunba Gbenga Onayiga.

Others are Edwin Philips of Breezer FM, Pauline Kuje Vans of NTA, Tayo Ikujunni of NAN and Mustapha Batsari of Voice of America, Gabriel Idibia of Daybreak, Adekola Bamgbala, a photographer.

Among the non-journalists that bagged the awards are Speaker of House of Representatives, Abbas Tajudeen; Abdulrazzak Namdas, National President of the Nigeria Union of Teachers, Audu Amba; Statistician-General of the Federation, Adeyemi Adeniran; Group CEO of NNPCL, Mele Kyari; Benue and Borno state governors, Hyacinth Alia and Babagana Zulum.


Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *