Thu. Jul 25th, 2024

No Vacancy In National Working Committee, APC Tells Yahaya Bello

The All Progressives Congress (APC) on Tuesday said that there is no vacancy within the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party.

The party made the clarification after posters promoting the immediate past Governor of Kogi state, Yahaya Bello, for the position of National Chairman were seen at strategic places in the nation’s capital on Monday.

Briefing journalists on the resolutions reached at the 141st meeting of the NWC, the National Publicity Secretary of the party, Felix Morka, said those pasting such posters should desist forthwith.

He stated: “There is no vacancy in the office of the National Chairman. Our National Chairman remains the Chairman. This is democracy, people do what they want. We have total confidence in the leadership of the party. Those who are pasting these papers around should desist from doing so.”

Morka also denounced the refusal of the Speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly to swear in 16 APC members adjudged by the Court of Appeal as duly elected lawmakers.

He said the stubbornness of the Speaker and the governor of the state in the matter was wrong, undemocratic and violently contemptuous of the authority of the Court of Appeal, the highest court for the determination of election petition matters as it concerns the House of Assembly.

To this end, the ruling party called on the Speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly to swear in the members without further delay in the interest of peace.

Morka stressed that even if the Speaker has any issue with the decision of the court, he has no choice but to do the right thing.

The spokesperson also revealed that the ruling party would flag off the update of the party’s membership register in Niger State.

He further noted that the NWC has adopted in its entirety the report of the NWC’s high level Reconciliation and Intervention Delegation to the United Kingdom’s APC Diaspora Chapter.

The spokesperson noted that the NWC also approved the constitution of an Interim Executive Committee for the Chapter, to be led by its chairman, Hon. Tunde Doherty, and Secretary, Hon. Joseph Adebola.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *