Wed. Jul 24th, 2024

Niger, Mali, Burkina Faso Pull Out Of ECOWAS

Three member countries of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Niger, Mali, and Burkina Faso on Sunday announce pulling out of the economic bloc with immediate effect.

The countries are led by military rulers having truncated democratic rule.

The decision by the three countries, announced in a joint statement read out on Niger national television, is a blow to the bloc’s regional integration efforts after it suspended the three countries following military takeovers.

Since the coups, and despite the sanctions, negotiations, and threats of military intervention, the military leaders have failed to provide a clear timetable to return the countries to constitutional rule.

Instead, they have hardened their rhetoric against the bloc and accused it of being influenced by external powers. The three countries have also cut military and cooperation ties with former colonial master France and turned to Russia for security support.

The three military leaders in Mali, Niger, and Burkina Faso, have argued that they want to restore security before organizing elections as the three Sahel nations struggle to contain insurgencies linked to al Qaeda and Islamic State.

“After 49 years, the valiant peoples of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger regretfully and with great disappointment observe that the (ECOWAS) organization has drifted from the ideals of its founding fathers and the spirit of Pan-Africanism,” Colonel Amadou Abdramane, Niger junta spokesman, said in the statement.

It is unclear for now how the decision by juntas in Niger, Burkina Faso, and Mali will impact the 15-member regional bloc where goods and citizens move freely.

According to the bloc’s treaty, member states wishing to withdraw must give a written one-year notice. It is unclear for now if the three states have done so. The treaty says they must continue to abide by its provisions during the year.

The three countries also comprise the eight-nation West African Monetary Union (UEMOA) that uses the West Africa CFA franc currency pegged to the Euro.

“The organization notably failed to assist these states in their existential fight against terrorism and insecurity,” Abdramane added.

The monetary union, following decisions by ECOWAS leaders after the coups in Mali and Niger, had cut off their access to the regional financial market, and the regional central bank. It later restored Mali’s access but Niger remains suspended.


Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *