• Sat. Sep 30th, 2023

Africa Prime News

News The African Way

Nigeria: Falgore Sworn in as Speaker Kano State House of Assembly

Jun 13, 2023


By Longtong Yakubu, Kano.

An NNPP member representing Rogo Constituency, Hon. Jibrin Ismail Falgore has been sworn in as Speaker of the 10th Kano State House of Assembly in Northwest Nigeria.

His emergence as Speaker came after been nominated by a member representing Dala Constuency, Lawal Hussaini and Musa Kachako, a member representing Takai constituency during the Innuaguration of the Kano 10th House of Assembly on Tuesday.

Muhammad Bello Batu Batu, a member from Rimi Gado/Tofa constituency emerged deputy Speaker, through a nomination moved by Hon. Zubairu Hamza Massu, member representing Sumaila Constituency and was seconded by Hon Haruna Yusha’u Kayyu, member representing Gwarzo Constituency.

The Acting Clerk of the House, Ali Maje, swore in the new Speaker while members were sworn in by the Director of Legal Service of the House, Nasidi Aliyu, after the Speaker took his seat.

In his acceptance Speech the new Speaker, Jibrin Ismail Falgore, thanked the Almighty for his emergence as the Speaker and assured the good people of the State that his doors will always remain open for positive advice.

While commending members for believing in him, he said going by the kwankwasiyya ideology, the House would do everything possible for the overall development of the State.

The new Speaker also went further to announce that the ruling party NNPP, transmit to the House name of Hon Lawan Husaini, member representing Dala Constituency as Majority leader, and Hon Garba Shehu Fammar as Deputy Majority Leader, whereas Hon Muddasir Ibrahim Zawachiki member representing Kumbotso Constituency as Chief Whip.

Similarly the opposition party, APC has transmited to the House name of Hon Labaran Abdul Madari as Minority Leader and Hon Ayuba Labaran Durum as Minority Whip.

The inauguration was attended by Secretary to the State Government, Dr Baffa Bichi, the Principal Private Secretary to the Executive Governor, Alhaji Shehu Wada Sagagi, the Executive Chairman of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP Hon Umar Haruna Doguwa and all the Party Executives as well as opposition party APC led by Hon Ibrahim Zakari Sarina and other well wishers.