News The African Way

INEC Declares Tinubu Winner of Nigeria’s 2023 Presidential Election

By Sunday Elijah

Nigeria’s Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), as the winner of Saturday’s presidential election.

Tinubu who scored a total of 8,794,726 votes, defeated 17 other candidates who took part in the election.

Based on results presented by INEC, Tinubu  scored over 25 per cent of total votes cast in 30 states, beating the 25% of votes in 24 states constitutionally required to be declared a winner.

INEC Chairman Mahmood Yakubu, who announced the final results in the early hours of Wednesday in Abuja, said Atiku Abubakar of the PDP came second in the election. Atiku polled a total of 6,984,520 votes in the election.

Mr. Peter Obi of the Labour Party came third in the election with a total of 6,101,533 votes, while Mr. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of the NNPP came fourth with 1,496,687 votes.

Only the top four candidates won the presidential election in at least one state. Each of Tinubu, Atiku and Obi won in 12 states while Mr Kwankwaso won only in Kano.

However, winning a majority of states is not a requirement for a candidate to be declared the winner of the election.

Tinubu’s Certificate of Return

How They Fared

Mr Tinubu won the election in Rivers, Borno, Jigawa, Zamfara, Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Niger, Osun, Ekiti, Ondo, Oyo and Ogun states.

Atiku won in Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, Kaduna, Gombe, Yobe, Bauchi, Adamawa and Taraba states. He also won in Osun, Akwa Ibom and Bayelsa states.

Mr Obi won in Edo, Cross River, Delta, Lagos, FCT, Plateau, Imo, Ebonyi, Nasarawa, Anambra, Abia and Enugu states.

Mr Kwankwaso won in only Kano State.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

%d bloggers like this: