News The African Way

Nigeria: El-Rufai Names 13 Commissioners For His Cabinet

Kaduna ( Nigeria) – Governor Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna State, northwest Nigeria has nominated 13 commissioners for his cabinet.

In a letter to the Kaduna State House of Assembly, El-Rufai requested the legislators to consider and approve his nominees as follows;

Professor Jonathan Andrew Nok: Health and Human Services
Hajiya Rabi M.G. Abdulsalam: Women Affairs and Social Development
Engr. Suleiman Aliyu Lere: Water Resources
Muhammed Sani Abdullahi: Budget and Planning
Dr. Manzo Daniel Maigari: Agriculture and Forestry
Muhammad Bashir Saidu: Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs
Hon. Suleiman Abdu Kwari: Finance
Dr. Shehu Usman Adamu: Education, Science and Technology
Dr. Ya’u Usman Idri: Environment and Natural Resources
Hon. Daniel Aut: Youth, Sport and Culture
Shehu Balarabe: Commerce, Industry and Tourism
Amina Ruth Dyeris-Sijuwadu: Justice
Usman Mahmud Hassan: Works, Housing and Transport

A statement by Special Assistant to the Governor on Media and Publicity, Samuel Aruwan gave a brief on the nominees as follows.

Jonathan Andrew Nok is a professor of Biochemistry at the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. Born in 1962, he won the Nigerian National Merit Award in 2010 and is the author of several highly-rated publications. He is from Jaba local government area.

Hajiya Rabi M.G. Abdulsalam, the nominee for the Women Affairs and Social Development portfolio, was born in 1969. She holds a Master’s in Public Administration. She has previously served as special assistant to two governors of the state. She is from Kaduna North.

Engineer Suleiman Aliyu Lere is nominated for the Water Resources ministry. Born in 1968, he holds a Master’s in Civil Engineering. He has worked in the business and banking sectors. He is from Lere.

Muhammed Sani Abdullahi is nominated for the Budget and Planning ministry. Born in 1979, he holds two master’s degrees, one in Development Economics and Policy, the other in International Affairs and Diplomacy. Widely known as Dattijo, he was most recently working at the United Nations where he was an adviser to the Secretary General Ban-Ki-Moon on designing the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) which will be replacing the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) later this year.

Dattijo has worked as an Economic Adviser to the Nigeria Governors Forum and as an adviser to Hajia Amina Mohammed while she was Senior Special Assistant to the President on MDGs. He is from Kaduna North.

Dr. Manzo Daniel Maigari is the nominee for the Agriculture and Forestry ministry. Born in 1969, he is a doctor of veterinary medicine. He has served in various NGOs and is a member of various professional bodies. He is from Kachia.

Muhammad Bashir Saidu is the nominee for the Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs ministry. Born in 1957, he holds an MBA and a post-graduate diploma in Shipping and Transport Management. He is from Zaria.

Hon. Suleiman Abdu Kwari is the nominee for the Finance ministry. Born in 1962, he holds an MBA. He is a financial consultant and has served as a commissioner in the Securities and Exchange Commission. He is a former member of the House of Representatives. He was chairman of Sabon-Gari local government council between 1991 and 1993.

Dr. Shehu Usman Adamu is nominated for the Education, Science and Technology portfolio. Born in 1968, this former lecturer holds a Ph.D in Applied Parasitology. He was a member representing Maigana in the state House of Assembly. He is from Soba.

Dr. Ya’u Usman Idris, the Environment and Natural Resources nominee, was born in 1964. He holds a Ph.D in Applied Nuclear Physics. He has worked at the Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority. He is from Kauru.

Hon. Daniel Amuze Auta, the Youth, Sports and Culture nominee, is from Chikun. Born in 1956, he holds a diploma in Production Management. He is a former member of the Kaduna State House of Assembly.

Shehu Balarabe is nominated for the Commerce, Industry and Tourism ministry. Born in 1967, he holds an MBA. He has worked in NEPA and in the private sector. He is from Giwa.

Amina Ruth Dyeris-Sijuwade is nominated for the Justice ministry. Born in 1968, she holds degrees in English and Law. She has been a legal practitioner, NGO worker and consultant. She is from Jema’a.

Usman Mahmud Hassan is nominated for the Works, Housing and Transport portfolio. Born in 1962. He is an electrical engineer, with experience working in the public and private sectors. He is from Kudan.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More