Mon. Jul 15th, 2024

Nigerian Election: Kaduna Conducts Peaceful Election

Longtong Ibrahim

KADUNA (Nigeria) – Elections in Kaduna State has been conducted peacefully in a hitch-free atmosphere with eligible voters turning out en mass to exercise their civic duties.

Though elections did not commence as early as the Independent National Electoral Commission had earlier announced but voters patiently waited for arrivals of the election officials at their various polling units.

Accreditation started around 11 a.m in most of the Wards in Chikun Local Government Area of the State while Voting Commenced at about 3-4 p.m and closes late in the evenings; likewise in Kaduna South, Kaduna North and some L.G.As in the state.

Complaints of card reader failures were recorded in most parts of the State, where it took a voter over two to three minutes to be accredited. There were also many cases where the card readers were not able to identify finger prints.

A visit to some Polling Units in Narayi, Nassarawa, Sabo Tasha in Chikun LGA, Barnawa, Television, Kakuri in Kaduna South L.G.A areas, a large number of voters turned out on time to wait for the electoral officials and materials to arrive.

The State Commissioner of Police, Umar Shehu alongside head of other security agencies in Kaduna State went round the polling units across the State capital to monitor the exercise.

The Commissioner expressed satisfaction with the orderly manner and peaceful conduct of the election and appealed to voters to remain calm and law abiding even after the election.

Meanwhile, in Jama’a L.G.A, a Chieftain of the All Progressive Congress (APC) Hon Samaila Maigoro Falke has expressed dismay over non-conduct of election in 13 polling units.

Falke said the non- conduct of elections in the 13 polling units was a deliberate and internal sabotage by INEC to disenfranchise people; adding that ballot papers where not distributed.

He alleged that the areas affected are APC strong holes. “Its is a deliberate attempt to denied them their right,” he said.

The polling units are: Ma’aji Baba, Calabar street, Iya Marafa, Sarkin Daji, Audu Azan, Abdulmajeed, Na’abin, Bakin Kogi, Ung/Sheu, Musa Danyaro, Wada Banana,Sule Barau and Ungwan Yahaya.

The electoral officer in charge of Jema’a Local Government Area, Mrs Dina Yakubu, in a remark said the non-conduct was due to late arrival and missing of some material; and further gave an assurance of conducting the election as soon as materials arrive from Kaduna.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *